Rhuna The Star Child by Barbara Underwood Review

book3-reworked_finalsmall

 

Giveaway

Win a $20 (or equivalent currency) Amazon gift card! http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/bf633057100/?

Blurb

This thrilling sequel to Rhuna: Crossroads is set in mystical Ancient Egypt where Black Magic was developed by the followers of the legendary villain, The Dark Master.

As strange and frightening curses plague the population, Rhuna discovers the underground organization that performs this uncanny new magic, but she can only combat it with the help of her long-lost father.

Having learned from her father amazing new skills to empower her on the Astral Plane, Rhuna once again strives to preserve peace and harmony in the idyllic Atlan civilization.

Far more challenging than fighting powerful Dark Forces, however, is Rhuna’s personal anguish when her daughter becomes involved with the leader of the Black Magic movement, and the once-perfect Atlan society based on utopian principles begins to crumble all around her.

Shocking events escalate Rhuna’s world to a breathless climax as she and her family undergo a momentous upheaval, and she is forced to make great personal sacrifices for her loved ones.

Review

This book is part of a series, but I didn’t feel out of step by starting with this one. I like that in a series, where you can read them out of order but still enjoy the stories within each book.

Rhuna The Star Child is an interesting mix of sci-fi fantasy and historical fiction. These elements blended together nicely to create a well-rounded and absorbing tale. I loved the dark magic elements, they were really well-written and I enjoyed learning more about the mysterious organisation that Rhuna was trying to fight. Ancient Egypt was richly described, so much so that I could picture myself there.  The plot was well-paced and the long chapters suited the story. I usually prefer short, snappy chapters, but the longer ones worked well here because it allowed more time to develop the story and characters.

This book has wide appeal because it incorporates so many elements into one book. I really enjoyed all the different elements of magic and family and peace. You can happily start with this book or with the previous book in the series.

Author Bio

As an only child of older migrant parents, I was exposed to a different culture and outlook as I growing up in the suburbs of Sydney. At the age of 10 I became interested in history and travel, and in sixth grade my teacher commented on my flair for writing.

After a lot of travel and reading about history – I started with Thor Heyerdahl’s adventures which led me to other books about unexplained mysteries such as pyramids and other megaliths around the world – I came to a point where I wanted to put it all together in an epic fantasy novel.

I have now written two further books following on from “Rhuna, Keeper of Wisdom.” The 2nd and 3rd books are both set in Ancient Egypt, and I am working on the fourth book in the series, so stay tuned and enjoy “Rhuna”!

Website: http://www.rhunafantasybooks.com/

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/KeeperWisdom

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01ANDQ73W/ref=series_rw_dp_sw

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30301577-rhuna-the-star-child

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/609503

One thought on “Rhuna The Star Child by Barbara Underwood Review

  1. Barbara Underwood says:

    Hi Lynsey! Thanks so much for taking part in my book’s blog tour, and thanks especially for your great review! I’m so glad you enjoyed it and got all those things out of it that I put in! 🙂

Leave a Reply

