Straight to Hell by Michelle Scott Review

21328033

 

Blurb

The Devil Never Forgets a Deal

I, Lilith Straight, was the woman you always wanted to be. I was married to someone better looking than your husband, we lived in that house you always wanted. Within a year, however, all of that changed. My marriage dissolved, my house burned down, and my job hardly paid the bills. So when I was hit by a car and died, I thought my life couldn’t get any worse. Boy, was I wrong.

Hell was not the place I imagined. It was worse. During my brief stay, I learned some disturbing truths about my family. Most worryingly my ancestor’s deal with the devil promising him every female descendent as a succubus.

So these were my options: Life on earth as a soul-sucking seductress. Or death and pass the succubus baton to my sweet little daughter. There was no choice. Welcome to hell on earth, Lilith. Mother, teacher, wanton she-demon.

 

Review

Life isn’t going very well for Lilith Straight. She’s divorced from her cheating orthodontist husband, living in a townhouse because his niece burned their dream home down and then, if that wasn’t bad enough, she ends up dead. Can things get any worse? Of course they can. One of her ancestors signed a deal with the devil and now she must become a succubus if she wants her old life back.

One thing I always look for in stories with paranormal elements is a relatable character. In Straight to Hell, we definitely get this with Lilith. She’s a really down-to-earth person, despite the out-of-this-world circumstances she’s found herself in. I really felt for her as she had to make the choice between going back to her old life and raising her daughter, becoming a succubus in the process, or turning her back on things. I also really enjoyed the obvious tension between her and William. It added a new dimension to the story and made for interesting reading.

This story was really enjoyable and I was thrilled when I found out it was part of a series. Lilith’s story was a compelling one as she found herself battling seemingly insurmountable obstacles in her quest to get her old life back. It has elements of both chick-lit and paranormal in it and will appeal to fans of both genres.

 

Links

Straight to Hell, book one of the Lilith Straight series, is available on Amazon.uk.

Buy link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Straight-to-Hell-ebook/dp/B00F462CNS/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1381264114&sr=1-1&keywords=straight+to+hell%2C+michelle

My website: www.mscottfiction.com

My Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/MichelleScottsFiction/

Find me on Twitter: @mscottwriter

Leave a Reply

