What A Difference Two Months Make!

Have rather neglected my little blog lately. This is mostly due to LOTS of changes that have happened recently.

The first one, and possibly the biggest, is that I quit my job. I did so for a variety of reasons that I won’t go into a huge amount of detail about. Suffice it to say, I didn’t feel I could stay there any longer and politely handed in my notice. It was the single best and scariest thing I’ve ever done. I hadn’t been happy there for a while and giving my boss my resignation letter terrified me. However, I’m happier now than I’ve ever been. I feel like loads of new opportunities have opened up for me; writing and day-job wise.

The second is I’m now working on a completely new WIP. It’s called Dear Ava and, although I don’t want to say too much about the plot just now, I can say I’m completely head-over-heels for it. The idea came when I wasn’t expecting it. I was planning a completely different story (one which I’ll begin writing after I’ve finished Dear Ava) when the idea for Dear Ava kind of sneaked up on me. The first night I worked on it, I got hardly any sleep as I was so excited about developing it. Unlike Chasing Rainbows, I did practically no planning for this story. I dived straight in and have been letting the characters tell the story. I think this method works best for me as it then feels like the characters’ story rather than one I’ve tried to fit them into.

Needless to say, I’m very excited about my new WIP. I’m around 18,000 words in at the moment and hope to submit it by the end of the year. I’ll reveal the plot soon, once I’ve ironed out all the little details!

4 thoughts on “What A Difference Two Months Make!

  1. Joanne Phillips says:

    Ooh, that’s so exiting Lynsey! And well done for ditching the job – you’ll be much happier, and more creative, without it. Can’t wait to hear more about Dear Ava, and it’s lovely to have you back in the blogosphere 🙂 x

    • Lynsey James says:

      It’s lovely to be back :)! Dear Ava’s coming on lovely and I’m much happier now that I’m not in the job anymore. Hopefully the start of big things… X

  2. @hell4heather says:

    Hi Lynsey, not a lot of characters on Twitter so I thought I’d finish my conversation here. I just wanted to say that I started my novel so long ago now – I remember feeling elated at the end of the first draft, with no idea how much more work there was yet to do. Rewrites on top of rewrites on top of rewrites. So, what I want to say is don’t be afraid. Don’t be held back because it feels frightening or imperfect. Imperfect is fine, you have lots of feedback to get back and loads of fine tuning and moments of inspiration will come whereby suddenly you’ll find yourself going into other territory. It’s a wonderful experience. Take your time, enjoy the creative ride and stick at it. We will get there if we don’t give up! I just know it. I quit my job too. Best decision ever. Bit skint, but very happy XXX

    • Lynsey James says:

      Have just logged on to read this and it’s completely lovely. Thank you so much for sharing your own experience, it’s lovely to know the journeys of other writers. When I finished my first draft of Dear Ava back in October, I remember feeling absolutely amazed with myself but knowing there was still work to be done. I’m in the middle of draft 2 now and I can’t wait until I’ve got a finished product that’s ready to send out 🙂 I still maintain that quitting my office job was the best thing I ever did. It allowed me some totally uninterrupted writing time and I couldn’t get over the difference in my writing style. Really looking forward to reading The New Mrs D XXX

Leave a Reply

