Dr Seuss, Rory Girvan & Me

If you’re reading this post right now, you’re probably asking yourself “what do Dr Seuss and someone named Rory Girvan have to do with writing/editing a book?”

Quite a lot actually 🙂

If you don’t already know who Rory Girvan is, then you soon will. He’s a fantastic up-and-coming young actor currently starring as Sunil in Stella, one of my favourite programs. As well as being one to watch for 2013, he’s also incredibly nice, witty, intelligent and insightful.  Also, as you’ll see from the picture below, he’s not bad looking either haha!Rory Girvan

 

I came across this brilliant interview with him, read it here: www.ideastap.com/…/the…/if-only-id-known-rorygirvan-stella-actor  In it, he mentions a Dr Seuss quote that really struck a chord with me: “Say what you want and be who you are because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” It’s completely true and a great mantra to live your life by. Why should you worry about people who judge you for being who you are rather than who they want you to be?  Those who really care about you will appreciate you for who you are.

So, how does this relate to writing? Well, for me, writing is all about expressing yourself and being who you are. Some people might think it’s a waste of time or tell you you’ll never make it or say you should do something else- what do they know? If writing makes you happy, then go for it! As Dr Seuss says, “those who matter don’t mind”. Creating stories has made me happy for as long as I can remember and I can’t imagine a life not doing it. I’ve encountered people who deem writing to be a useless pursuit and some have told me so to my face. In fact, I was laughed at by a Careers Adviser when I told her I wanted to be a writer. She cocked her head to one side, smiled and said “well now that’s not a very stable career option is it?” I walked out the room that day all the more determined to succeed. When I read interviews like Rory’s, where someone has pursued their dreams, it makes me smile, especially when the person is as down-to-earth and humble as he is. I think the main thing to take away, both from the quote and stories like his, is not to worry about what everyone thinks. People will always have their differing opinions but you’ll know yourself the ones that count.

Leave a Reply

