First Draft Finished!

Today at 11:41pm, I reached the biggest milestone of my writing career yet. I typed the final word on my first draft! *claps hands and squeals with joy* I can’t tell you how happy I am; those of you who are regular readers will know that it’s been a long journey for Chasing Rainbows, so to come this far is just amazing. I have now completed a story- eek! There were times where it didn’t seem possible but thanks to some amazing support, I finally got to sit back and say “this is my first draft”.

 

 

finishing line

Of course, I haven’t crossed the finishing line yet (see what I did there?) There’s still a lot of work to be done- namely a structural edit and a line edit. I’ll be starting the structural edit on January 14th after letting the story sit for a week. I’m resolving not to look at it till then but I just know I won’t be able to resist a peek to marvel at the fact it’s actually finished! I’m daring to let my mum read the first draft so she can let me know what she thinks. I’ve planned a mammoth structural edit to get it how I want it, then after a line edit, I’ll be putting it out to beta readers to get feedback. It all feels so real now. I have a novel, something I’ve created! It needs a lot of work but I still can’t believe I’ve come this far.

The best piece of advice I could give to anyone is don’t give up. I’ll be honest- writing ain’t easy. I’ve had times where I didn’t think I’d ever have anything approaching a novel but for each of these times, I’ve had twenty times where I’ve jumped up and down because a writing session has gone well. I used to be a chronic giver-upper (for the purpose of this post, let’s pretend that’s a word) I’d pour my heart and soul into an idea, get about halfway through, become stuck then get a ‘lightning bolt’ idea for another story and start on that. And so the cycle would continue. During the year I spent on Chasing Rainbows, I got tons of ideas for stories that I’d love to work on. But the pull to Chasing Rainbows was so strong that I just couldn’t give it up. Instead, I built an Ideas file and I’ve now got ideas for about ten more novels- I’m definitely not done with writing!

2 thoughts on “First Draft Finished!

  1. Joanne Phillips says:

    Well done Lynsey! This is such an achievement, I’m really proud of you. It’s a great idea to put it away for a couple of weeks before you read it through, also I tend to try and read it in a different format – like on my Kindle or at least as a pdf on screen. You can then read the whole thing without being tempted to jump in and start making changes. Of course, keep a notebook handy to write them all down!

    Good luck with the editing, and I’m looking forward to returning the beta-reading favour 🙂 x

    • Lynsey James says:

      Thanks Jo :)!

      I still can’t believe it’s finished to be honest. I’ve made a pile of notes and its going well so far 🙂 I’m taking my time with it because I want to get it right, but I can’t wait for you to read it. How do I get it onto my Kindle? Would really like to do that. Hope you like it xx

Leave a Reply

