Write Like You’ve Already Made It

Recently, I came across a wonderful blog post by Miranda Dickinson- click here to read it. It advises aspiring writers to “write like you’ve already made it”. I read the post and thought to myself “what fantastic advice!”. If you write like you’ve already got a glittering career in writing instead of someone who doesn’t think they’re worthy of such success, surely your writing can only improve right?

So, I decided to test this theory. Couldn’t hurt right? I’d been feeling like Chasing Rainbows wasn’t going in quite the right direction and was unsure how to proceed. Two important scenes were completely at odds with each other but I needed both of them to make the story work. So, I thought, maybe changing my mindset from Aspiring Author to Already-Made-It Author would help.

During my first week off work, I sat down with Chasing Rainbows in its half-finished form and decided to do as the post instructed- write like I’d already made it. The results, I have to say, were nothing short of magical. All of a sudden, I’d unlocked this untapped confidence I hadn’t known existed before! Before I knew it, I’d written an extra 2,000 words and had planned some of the edit I’m going to do when the first draft’s done. I’d never have been able to do that had I not changed my mindset. I’m now at the end of a week of thinking like this- I have written 5,000 words and have a page full of editorial notes. More than that though, I have the confidence to know that I have the ability to make Chasing Rainbows into an enjoyable, readable novel.

Writing has more to do with confidence than I’d previously thought. Skill obviously plays a major role that can’t be ignored, but if even the most talented writer doesn’t have confidence, they’ll find writing a book very difficult. Even if you’re at the beginning of your writing journey, imagine yourself where you want to be. Don’t think of yourself as someone who hasn’t made it but as someone who WILL make it. Give it a try and see how your writing blossoms. Go on- I dare you 🙂

4 thoughts on “Write Like You’ve Already Made It

    • Lynsey James says:

      Thank you Pauline! It totally changed the way I write and gave me so much more confidence. Liek you say, it can work with any type of writing- blog posts, tweets or novels. If you believe in what you’re writing, you can see it come to life so much better. I’d recommend this technique to anyone x

    • Lynsey James says:

      Hi Emma, thank you for your comment. I decided to try the technique when I was feeling a bit wobbly about my writing and it completely changed my mindset. Was so useful in making me believe in what I was writing. Instead of doubting myself, I told myself I’d already made it and it put my head in a different place. It made it easier to keep going when I came to difficult points too x

Leave a Reply

