The Next Big Thing

First of all, I’d like to say a big thank you to Daniela Sacerdoti for passing the Next Big Thing baton onto me! Here are a few things about my lovely WIP…

  1. What is the title of your book?

Chasing Rainbows, although some of you may know it as The Dream List. I recently changed the title as part  of one of my major revamps!

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

It came to me one night while I was at work. I used to do evening shifts for a large DIY store and would often find myself with huge amounts of free time on my hands. One night, I let my imagination wander and thought of all the things I’d do if I had the time/money/courage to make them happen. Then, I thought “what if someone DID make them happen?” Two hours and a lot of imagining later, Chasing Rainbows was born! It was called The Dream List first of all, and the characters’ names were Laura and Jack. I wanted to tell a story about making your dreams happen, living life to the full and about how the best surprises are the most unexpected.

3. What genre does your book fall under?

Contemporary women’s fiction.

4. What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

Ever since I started writing Chasing Rainbows, I’ve imagined Catrin Stewart as Evie. I saw her as Emma in Stella and knew immediately she was Evie. For Jack, I’ve always imagined him to look like Frankie Cocozza with his wild dark hair and cheeky personality. Lisa, Evie’s Mum, would be played by the amazing Ruth Jones and her dad by Owen Teale.

               

5. What is the one sentence synopsis for your book?

“Twelve dreams in twelve months…how hard can it be?”

6. Will your book be self-published or through an agency?

I’m planning to send it out to literary agencies to try and gain representation.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I’m currently working on draft number five. Overall, I’m around halfway there. I have half the story already written and the rest planned out and ready to go. I was happily carrying on with it, when I realised the title just wasn’t working and that Jack’s story arc needed to be added. So, I’m currently weaving that in through the existing material and basicaly putting my jigsaw of a story back together.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I would say it’s similar to A Hopeless Romantic by Harriet Evans, I Heart New York by Lindsay Kelk or All the Single Ladies by Jane Costello.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this story?

I can take inspiration from literally anything; something someone says, a mannerism they have or even the view from a bus window (I will drive one day!). For Chasing Rainbows, I was inspired by the thought of dropping everything to pursue a new adventure. Then, I added in the element of two people being destined for each other, but being so far apart- I’m a bit of a romantic as you can tell! The key components of the story just seemed to come together in my mind and nine months later, here I am!

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

It has romance, heartbreak and just a sprinkling of magic! There’s burlesque dancing, sky-diving, sphering and a thrilling chase across London, culminating in one of the most romantic scenes I’ve ever written before (I challenge you not to cry!)

11. Which other writers would you like to tag to tell us about their Next Big Thing?

The lovely Joanne Phillips, author of Can’t Live Without and A Life Unpredicted and Other Stories!

Chasing Rainbows, coming to a bookshop or Kindle near you- one day!

3 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing

  1. Joanne Phillips says:

    Hi Lynsey, thanks so much for passing the baton over to me! Right, I’m going to do my next big thing post tomorrow (Tueday), and I have to think of someone else to pass it on to …

    I loved reading about Chasing Rainbows (great title), and I’m really looking forward to reading that ending! Endings are so hard to get right, especially for contemporary women’s fiction in the genre where happy endings are expected, but have to still be that little bit unexpected! Thanks again, Lynsey,

    Jo x

    • Lynsey James says:

      Hi Jo

      Couldn’t think of a more deserving candidate than yourself :-)! Really glad you enjoyed reading about Chasing Rainbows, it’s an absolute joy to write and will hopefully be equally good to read. Really can’t wait to read your post :-)!

      Lynsey xx

Leave a Reply

