The Great Title Change

It’s no secret that for the last couple of weeks, I haven’t felt happy with my writing. Something was missing, some key essence that would make my story POP! I couldn’t figure out what it was. I tried adding in a new story arc (disaster!), writing from different perspectives (don’t ask…) and generally spicing up my existing material. Nothing worked. I knew the story I wanted to tell but it kept becoming more and more complicated in my mind. I read on an agent’s website that you should explain your story in one sentence to hook someone. Mine needed two or three, so clearly something was wrong! I re-evaluated everything and decided that what I needed was a title change!

The title of the story, I am proud to announce is ….drumroll….Chasing Rainbows!

It might seem random, but to me it makes perfect sense. The more I got to know my characters, the more I saw that Jack and Evie are both dreamers. They both want to find the end of their rainbows i.e. the thing they’re destined for, but are chasing the wrong rainbows, so they’ll never find it! When I came up with the new title, I wondered how I hadn’t seen it before.ย It gives me a whole new concept to work with which will make my story better as a result.

2 thoughts on “The Great Title Change

  1. Joanne Phillips says:

    Hi Lynsey,

    Your post really resonated with me – we are living parallel lives at the moment! I’ve also had a crisis with my latest novel, the sequel to Can’t Live Without, which you might remember I’d decided to call The Family Trap. When I came to do my final edit I realised there were aspects of the story I wan’t happy with, and it was only when I realised I could ditch the title – and all the implications that came with it – that a whole world of possibility opened up to me!

    I’m not sure which title I’ll go with yet, I have a couple of ideas, and The Family Trap is still in contention, but it’s great to be willing to let go of something you originally thought was perfect.

    Jo x

    PS – I think Chasing Rainbows is brilliant.
    PPS – Sometimes if you are finding it hard to get the cover right, that can be a sign that the title isn’t working. I know that was the case for me. I can see many possibilities for Chasing Rainbows ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Lynsey James says:

      Hi Jo

      Glad you liked the post! It takes a lot of guts to ditch a title as that’s what gives a book it’s identity. Well done for having the courage to explore other options :). Hope the search for a new title goes well.

      I was 200 pages in when I realised I didn’t like The Dream List as a title anymore. It had been called that for the nine months I’d been working on it, so to walk away from it completely was pretty scary! The new title has opened up so many exciting possibilities. You may remember I was grappling with how to add Jack’s story arc. Well, I’ve now been able to add that in and it’s coming on quite well.

      I’ve got a cover image in mind for Chasing Rainbows already ๐Ÿ™‚ never created my own cover before! Thanks for saying you liked the title- I was a bit worried about changing it. If you need any help at all, just say ๐Ÿ™‚

      Lynsey xx

Leave a Reply

