Another Extract from Draft 4!

As with all good stories, this one starts at the beginning.

It started on a cold day in December, two weeks before Christmas. A normal day, just like any other. When I woke up that morning, I had no idea a chain of events would be soon be set in motion that would change my life forever. You just don’t think of life that way, do you? Especially when your life is as ordinary as mine.

I live with my mum in a gorgeous Victorian terraced house in Cardiff. It’s been just the two of us for seventeen years; my parents split up when I was three. My mum and I look more like sisters than mother and daughter. We have the same long brown hair, deep hazel eyes and fiery temper! We share our house with Elvis, our slightly deranged Border Terrier whose fears include the postman, the phone and squeaky toys! We got him from a rescue centre when he was a puppy. His previous owners had treated him very badly and he was quite nervous around us for a while. Now, he leaps all over the place and tries to jump up and lick your face at every opportunity. He’s a bit nervous around new people and hates my boyfriend Tom for some reason, but he’s the best dog in the world.

Ah, Tom. I can feel my heart fluttering just thinking about him. We’ve been together for three-and-a-half years and it’s fair to say, we’re completely in love with each other. We’ve been in each other’s lives for as long as I can remember; we met in playgroup when he tried to throw me off a rocking horse! Not the greatest start to a relationship, you may say, but thirteen years later we realised we fancied each other. The rest, as they say, is history. And I’m happy to report he hasn’t tried to throw me off a rocking horse since!

So, as you can see, I had no reason to suspect that soon everything would come crashing down around me. I got out of bed that morning, went for a shower and ate a piece of toast for breakfast while Elvis barked at my feet. About as ordinary as you can get, isn’t it?

Hope you all like it! Comment below or message me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

