The Dream List OST

I don’t know if any of you out there do this, but in the early stages of writing, I listen to songs that relate to my story and compile them into an Official Soundtrack (OST)! I find it really helps focus my writing and is a pretty fun thing to do (you can imagine your story as a little mini movie!) The Dream List OST consists of:

Heaven by Emeli Sande

Easy Tiger by Kids in Glass Houses

Say by John Mayer

Chocolate by Snow Patrol

Next to Me by Emeli Sande

I’m Yours (cover) by Caro Emerald

Hold onto Your Heart by Tina Parol

Lucky Strike by Maroon 5

Dirty Little Secret by All American Rejects

That Man by Caro Emerald

When She Was Mine by Lawson

Iris by Goo Goo Dolls

Long Hot Summer by Keith Urban

Set Fire to the Third Bar by Snow Patrol

Somebody Like You by Keith Urban

 

Quite an eclectic mix but it all relates to different parts of the story! The list above isn’t in order (Heaven relates to a later part of the book) but I find that an OST helps to give the story some context and it certainly helps me to visualise scenes in my head. I play them like a movie and add some music which really brings it to life for me. Some may argue that making a track list will force you to relate the story to the music rather than the other way round. What do you guys think? Are OSTs a good or bad idea? Do you use them yourself? Post yours in the box below!

Leave a Reply

