Let Draft #4 Commence…!

August 13th 2012

Up until yesterday, I was working happily through draft number three of my novel, The Dream List. I liked how it was going; the storytelling, the characterisation, the pace. It seemed like this was going to be the one I’d eventually submit to agents when the time came.

 

So what changed?

 

Well, I suppose I have to thank Joanne Phillips, author of Can’t Live Without (buy it here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Cant-Live-Without-ebook/dp/B0083SJB4M/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1344890100&sr=1-1 ) It’s a fabulous book and helped me to discover what was wrong with mine. I’d had a niggling doubt at the back of my mind that it wasn’t quite right and when I began reading Can’t Live Without, I discovered what it was. There was no hook at the beginning of The Dream List and the storytelling, although good, was kinda flabby. So I’ve began work on a whole new beginning for the novel that I have a feeling will turn into a total rewrite. Reading others’ work really does help to improve your own and I know that reading Can’t Live Without has resulted in me dramatically improving The Dream List. Look out for my full review of CLW later this week!

 

Keep smiling!

Lynsey

2 thoughts on “Let Draft #4 Commence…!

  1. Joanne Phillips says:

    Hi Lynsey,
    I feel bad that my book made you doubt the beginning of yours! I was interviewed on Stafford FM this week and funnily enough they asked me what I thought made a good beginning, and I said I think it’s about creating a character that the reader will really empathise with and want to find out what happens to next. So don’t worry too much about a big ‘event’ at the start, just work on character. From what I’ve read of your excerpts for The Dream List, I think you have this in the bag!
    Jo x

    • missorangecrush says:

      Hi Joanne,

      Reading Can’t Live Without just made me realise that I needed a hook at the beginning of The Dream List and I have to admit it’s made it a thousand times better :). I’ve actually ended up with more material and of better quality too! Will be working on it more next week- got an 8 week old Westie puppy named Dixie on Thursday so been helping her settle in. Thanks so much for your comments.

      Lynsey x

Leave a Reply

