Diary of an Aspiring Author #9

June 7th 2012

Hi! Sorry for taking so long to post an entry- I’ve been celebrating my birthday! Had an amazing time, decided to just do a meal with family & friends rather than a night out. Loads of great presents and a fabulous cake = happy Lynsey! Haven’t been writing new material for The Dream List as much as I should, but I’ve spent the time editing the most recently written sections and making them perfect. Chapter 5 is now exactly how I want it and I’m now on chapter 6. Kind of stuck on how to progress the story to the next point but I’m confident it’ll be figured out soon. I hate when a section is really hard to write, but when you finally crack it, the feeling of satisfaction is unbelievable! Very much looking forward to the day where what I need to write next becomes clear….!

I’ve given up so many times on being a writer, but this time feels so different. The times where I gave up before, I was convinced I didn’t have the talent/needed a “sensible” career/wasn’t good enough but now I actually believe that I have the talent. There’s no way I’m giving up this time. This past year has taught me a lot about following your dreams (will be putting a lot of this into The Dream List) and life really is too short not to love what you do. I hope one day to be in a position where work consists of me and my imagination but I have to make that happen. So to everyone reading this who has a dream, go and follow it! Only you can make it happen and it’s out there waiting for you!

Keep smiling!

Lynsey

Leave a Reply

