Diary of an Aspiring Author #7

June 1st 2012

Can’t believe it’s June already! Four days until I turn the big 2-1 and goodness knows how many days until The Dream List is finished! It’s progressing slowly but surely to where I want it to go to. I’ve been focusing more on tweaking my exisiting content than adding new stuff and it’s made the story better. Focus is now on progressing the story forward and I’m hoping to have Evie out of uni before the end of this month. I personally find that setting yourself plot goals is a lot more useful than setting yourself a target of writing X amount of words. To me, my plot means a lot more than word count!

When I was thinking of studying writing at university, I saw this essay question “why write?” and, at the time, had no idea how to answer it. To describe the satisfaction of creating a character and taking them on a journey is impossible, or so I thought. However, now I’m a little older and a lot wiser, I think I have a better idea of why I write. To put it quite simply, I write because it makes me happy. Don’t get me wrong, I’m generally a very happy-go-lucky person, but writing just makes me happier than anything I’ve ever done before. At the start of this year, I was studying to be a teacher at college and was getting treated like rubbish by the school staff. It made me feel pretty down but jumping into my own little world that I created (this was, at the time, the very early stages of The Dream List) made everything evaporate. At the end of March this year, I developed enough courage to tell the school where to go and also to enter a very early version of the story into Novelicious Undiscovered 2012. I didn’t make the shortlist but it was the first time I’d ever done anything like that in my life. It taught me that writing is what I truly want to do with my life and that I have to believe in it to get it published. I also learned through Twitter that you have to market your work, hence this blog! That’s why every view and comment means so much to me. You guys are helping me achieve my dream! For that, I’ll keep posting as regularly as I can and hopefully the completed Dream List will be hitting bookshops soon (just have to convince an agent to love it first!)

Keep smiling!

Lynsey

Leave a Reply

