Diary of an Aspiring Author #3

May 25th 2012

I’m almost ready to write The Big Twist. Won’t reveal what it is but what I can tell you is it changes Evie’s life forever. Got my writing playlist at the ready, my brain in gear and I’m ready to go! Can’t tell you how excited I am! I sound like a right geek but I really do love my characters. I find that greatly helps when you’re writing a book. It’s good to write a character you don’t like but it’s far easier to write someone you’d spend time with in real life. I’ve tried to write novels before, but this is by far the most fun I’ve had. I think sharing my experiences with all you lovely people adds to the fun too! Once again, thank you all so much for visiting and keep on reading!

I’ve never been so serious about finishing a novel as I am about The Dream List. I can almost see it sitting proudly on the New In table at Waterstone’s with its glossy cover screaming “Buy me! I’m fabulous!”… It’s that vision that keeps me going through all the times where I don’t have a clue what to write. When the easiest thing in the world would be to give up and start a new story, I shut the file down, take a break and try again later. It’s still in the early stages but, bear in mind, I am on draft number three! None of the other two drafts were finished but I’ve got a good idea of how I want to write it and how the characters speak. Getting to know the characters is one of the most fun parts for me, as a writer. If you just see them as names on a page, your novel won’t be written with half as much passion and the characters won’t come to life like they should. I’ve even written what Evie and Jack’s favourite foods are! It’s safe to say I know them quite well!

I’m thinking of letting you guys in on some of Evie and Jack’s most secret secrets. Let me know what you think either on Twitter or on here!

Lynsey

Leave a Reply

