Diary of an Aspiring Author #1

May 23rd 2012

So I’ve decided to keep an online diary of my progress with The Dream List. I have to admit that writing has been a little slow lately, I just haven’t known how to begin Chapter 5. It’s like looking at it when it’s written in Swahili! I’m sure my writer’s block won’t last long though. Perhaps today at work, I’ll have a major breakthrough. It was at work that I came up with the idea- I was standing at the customer service desk on a particularly quiet night and it just strolled into my head. I took a few days to flesh out the idea then began what was to be the first draft of the story. I’m now on draft number three! It’s taken a lot to get it to where it is now, and even then I’m only 25 pages in, but I have to say it’s the best I’ve seen it. I’m editing all the time to make it the best it can possibly be.

I’m also using Twitter (click follow on the right hand side if you like!) to promote my work. I’ve actually gained quite a few followers from it and it’s good to know that people are noticing the novel.

Today’s plan includes reading over what I’ve got so far and making a Characters page for the site so you can get to know the characters a little better. May even be able to break my writer’s block *crosses fingers*.

Leave a Reply

